Seven Good Reasons to Stop Whatever You’re Doing and Go for It

Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better. 

- Samuel Beckett

What is it that stops us from doing exactly what we want to in life? Most of it can be chalked up to some sort of fear – of failure, of reproach, of uncertainty. Here’s a quick list to help determine if that big risk of yours is worth trying.

1. You can’t stop thinking about it. The idea pervades your thoughts. You smile every time it crosses your mind. You’ve already worked out the best-possible scenario in your head, and you think you have the tools to make it work.

2. You’re unhappy with the status quo. Remember that little voice in your head? The one that reminds you when you’re feeling down and that now is the time to do something about it? Yeah, listen this time.

3. You’re willing to put in the work. No doubt what you’ve been dreaming about will require you to put in some effort. But that’s what has made it so elusive thus far right? It’s up to you to decide whether you want to live a life where you look back and say “I’m so glad I tried that” or one where you admit “I really wish I had done that.”

4. You’re clinging to an illusion of safety.  You’ve created a false cocoon of security in a world where no such thing actually exists. “But this way I don’t get hurt!” you convince yourself. Well, newsflash: you hurt yourself more by holding yourself  back than by mustering up the courage to change. Do what you actually want to do. Be who you actually want to be.

5. You want to. Passion is the number one ingredient in making a dream a reality. And ultimately the decision is yours, and yours alone. If you’re taking the leap solely for the reason that it will impress someone else, reevaluate.

6. You attempted to before but it didn’t work out. As a baby, did you give up on walking after the first few times resulted in a happy marriage of your forehead and the hardwood floor? Nope. You pushed yourself and tried again. Somewhere along the line, in our efforts to grow up and act like adults, we learn to stop “trying again”. We rid ourselves of the spirit that allows us to tackle anything in favor of one that promotes mental barriers and excuses. Chances are you learned something from that failed attempt. Time to put those lessons to good use.

7. It completely terrifies you. Good. You will grow 1 million times over if you look that fear in the face and mutter through gritted teeth: “bring it on.” Who knows, you may surprise yourself. And what beauty there is in such surprises.


Image Source

27 thoughts on “Seven Good Reasons to Stop Whatever You’re Doing and Go for It

  1. I too believe trying again and again till my common sense steps forth and asks me to stop it. life is a really complex affair, so there are different rules for different types of people, one should pay heed to common sense and create a balance between courage and common sense to derive happiness. what do you think?

    • Common sense typically chimes in when there is some sort of danger of which we need to be aware. As long as that danger is a real one, and not one we’ve imagined for ourselves, I agree that it is okay to pay heed and try to strike a balance. Thanks for your insight and thoughtful response.

  2. Beckett… Ahhhh….!

    I’m so VERY glad you visited my site so that I could find yours! These are 7 wonderful tips and I needed to read them to reinforce my passion and resolve to continue jumping headlong into my art pants project…!

    I would not, however, sit on that bike saddle and ride that thing down the slope…!!! Just looking at the picture made me giddy.

    :c)

    • Ditto on the bike! However luckily that’s somebody elses dream and I can stick to my own, land based dreams.

      I agree with the sentiment, but sometimes following through is just too terrifying. I’m trying.

      • Kate, too funny.

        And good for you that you’re at least trying. Just putting in that effort is more than many are willing to do. Across the board, I feel as though big risks are always terrifying, and always rewarding. Even if you don’t get the outcome you want, the lesson is priceless.

  3. Yes! Great post. No matter what it is that you want to do, one thing is for sure – You’ve got to be in it to win it. I wholeheartedly agree with all of your points, #4 in particular. :)

  4. Love the picture, it really drags you in and is a powerful symbol of facing your fears- which is the one I really am inspired by, as I need to do this! #7 shows me that I can fight even if it terrifies me- I like your take on this on. I also need to apply #6 and keep going instead of being discouraged. I will be inspired! Love that Beckett quote!

      • Great post. I read an article about Steve Jobs this past summer and to paraphrase, he stated that the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. I have not forgotten that article or that statement. Great work comes only from loving your work. After the week I have survived, this rings truer than ever. As with most challenging situations, love in general gets you through it.

    • Jobs got it right on that front. I think that that love and passion for your work helps to make it worthwhile – when you spend most of your day at a job, you better hope it’s one you enjoy. I think that carrying that passion over into our relationships, hobbies, etc. also helps to satiate our desire for happiness and a rewarding life. Thanks for your comment.

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog. This is a great post. Wonderful to remind ourselves of these truths, when sometimes it feels easier to be scared and stick with the status quo, be it miserable. I know someone else who could use this right now, too. Thanks again!

  6. Pingback: Seven Good Reasons to Stop Whatever You’re Doing and Go for It | theunspokentruth12

Leave a Reply

