25 Ways to Be Unsuccessful Creatively (and in life)

“Many of life’s failures are men who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.”

-Thomas Edison

1. Compare your work to others’ constantly.

2. Give up when presented with an obstacle.

3. Never ask for help. Be an “island” out on your own.

4. Be afraid of change.

5. Never plan.

6. Think that you can’t do it.

7. Blame someone else for your failings.

8. Never work on yourself or try to improve.

9. Let past failings hold you back from future successes.

10. When something isn’t working, ignore it. Don’t bother trying to fix it.

11. Convince yourself that your dreams are too big.

12. Expect someone else to come in, work their magic and save the day.

13. Never express gratitude for what you have.

14. Treat others as if they mean nothing to you.

15. Do lazy work.

16. Never forgive yourself or others for mistakes.

17. Choose friends who belittle your dreams.

18. Stop Learning. You’re probably smart enough.

19. Be afraid of what others will think of you.

20. Make excuses.

21. Lack persistence.

22. Self-sabotage.

23. Don’t trust your instincts.

24. Let perfectionism get in the way of progress.

25. Stop creating.

Hope these handy tips help!

Image Source

60 thoughts on “25 Ways to Be Unsuccessful Creatively (and in life)

  1. I love your site… Thank you for visiting mine. I am in the process of researching the origins and meaning of creativity. You seem to recognize that without creativity, we are nothing. The power is in our hands. Real power- the power to grow, learn and develop intrinsic connections to others.

    Felicia L. 🙂

  2. It’s so telling, the times I’ve been successful and the times my passions, my interest, my ideas and inventions fail to be financed: the list is very long, a few picked up by others who got rich.

  3. Fantastic list!

    I would also add ‘Always keep yourself busy.’

    People who are constantly on the move rarely create. There isn’t enough time to mull over an idea and bring it to fruition because there’s too much momentum in their life.

    One of my favourite quotes is by Freeman Dyson (physicist and author):

    ‘I think it’s very important to be idle…people who keep themselves busy all the time are generally not creative. So I am not ashamed of being idle.’

  4. My favorite of this list – Never Plan. Seems like an oxymoron to being creative – so many of the “creative” types live by the “flow.” Yet structure is an important element in the arts. It gives definition and foundation to the work. “Guidelines” can help an artist keep focus on the work and allow the monetary rewards to come with more regularity. Not all artists need to be “starving” for their work. Thanks for the opportunity to reflect and ponder! I am glad you “liked” my blog.

  5. By the way – your blog title “Thoughts on Theatre” (80) reflects the Sabian Astrology Symbol of “A cafeteria with an abundance of choices.” It demonstrates “the winds of change.” (80) Very beautiful and apropos. It shows the ebb and flow of our mind as a creative vessel. 🙂

  6. This is excellent – thanks for sharing! Glad you found (and enjoyed) my blog…I like to think of it as a nice little “gift” that people can receive every couple days! Keep sharing the good energy – it makes the world a better place…

  7. Pingback: BLOCKED CREATIVELY? YOU’RE TOO NEGATIVE! | Feng Shui By Fishgirl

  8. Pingback: BLOCKED CREATIVELY? (MAYBE) YOU’RE TOO NEGATIVE! | Feng Shui By Fishgirl

  9. Thank you for sharing these words of wisdom. I am finally learning to, as George Costanza’s puts it” doing the opposite or in this case thinking the opposite. I used to give up if things didn’t move quick enough. But now that I have committed to live my life as a Renaissance Woman and follow my art, my photography, my video production work and my singing, I am opening upe to new levels of success. Good words to live by. I love your site.

  10. #11 has always been my downfall – sometimes it is hard to climb over the mountain other people have moved in front of you. Thank you for this…very inspiring.

  11. Pingback: The “Lucky” Ones – An interview with L.A. theatre guru Joanna Syiek | [Witty Title Here]

Leave a Reply

