Taking Control of Your Own Path


There’s safety in numbers, they say. But you know what you won’t find in numbers? Yourself, the unique you that is all your own. Forging your own path is a tough journey, but it is also something you owe to yourself. Only you know the life that will make you happiest.

Here are a few “life truths” that can help you as you seek out that path:

You will never feel freer than the moment you stop caring what others think about you. We often get so caught up in the idea that everyone cares about what we do with our lives that we forget to live them. In reality? People do not think about all the nitty gritty details of your life like you do – unless you’ve become successful and happy. Then they’ll want the secrets.

Creativity is hard workSometimes inspiration smacks you upside the head out of nowhere. Most of the time creativity stems from a constant commitment to getting something done. Allow your creativity to flourish by doing something about it. Every day. No excuses. Even if it’s just a journal entry – get something down and out of your head.

Change is scary. But you know what is more frightening? The idea of getting caught up in a life that is not your own. One that has been dictated by someone else. You want things to be different? Start by doing something different.

There’s no road map for a new plan. If your idea is truly a new one, there will be no one out ahead of you showing you how to get things done. It’s up to you to decide that your courage is greater than your fear that it may not work out.

Your brain’s capable of learning a lot more than we think. It’s hungry for knowledge. When we work it out and challenge it with a new language, thought-provoking books, or interesting ideas it flexes its muscle and shows off. Treat it nice and promise to never stop learning.

You should only work for people that you like. I whole-heartedly believe that you can only do your best work when working for someone that you respect, but also admire and enjoy on a personal level. If you’re going to be working for someone other than yourself, better make sure that person is someone who you will want to be around and from whom you can glean all that you can. Kudos if they truly know you as a person and can appreciate all you have to offer.

Pay attention to your gut. Years and years of ingrained experience tell us when something is awry. We are very good at telling ourselves it’s “no big deal.” Next time you get a weird vibe from a person, company, or idea, pay attention to it. If something feels like a scam, it most likely is. 

Life is short and love is real. If you mess up, say you’re sorry. If you’re angry, be the bigger person and tell the person about it. Waste as little energy as possible on hangups that pop up like weeds in the garden of your heart. Take care of yourself and don’t allow someone in if they do not care about you.

Image Source

You may also enjoy:

29 thoughts on “Taking Control of Your Own Path

  1. Words of wisdom, Theater! I live my life trying to focus on these things and everyday is a new struggle still! It is absolute fact though and striving to attain the perfect living in the now and keeping all of these things in the foreground of the day is the path to enlightenment. Great post!

  2. Pingback: Imagine that! « Quieter Elephant

  3. It took me a few days to carve out time to even read, but I’m SO glad I put this at the top of the list! I’ve recently passed through a hurricane of discomfort, which told me I simply couldn’t stand still anymore and wait for life to happen to me or to be convenient or to sort itself out. The more uncomfortable it got, the more clear the truth became. I realized I had to stop being afraid, take the leap of faith, and not worry about being responsible for other people’s feelings on the matter.But the minute I let courage take over, I felt 100 pounds lighter. I’m in the eye of the hurricane right now – I still have to pass through the other side. But the storm will clear and I know I’ll be fine. Keep up the inspiration!

    • Elizabeth, that was so sweet of you to say. It brings me great comfort to know that you found this in a time when life was showing you its ugly side. Wishing you strength and courage on your journey through the rest of the storm.

  4. This reminds me of one of my all-time favorite quotations:

    If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path. ~ Joseph Cambbell

  5. Reblogged this on St. John Studios and commented:
    Okay, so I’m not totally sure how the whole “reblogging” thing works out, but this is a really great post here from thoughts on theatre. I ponder my path and how to stay on it all of the time, so this really spoke to me. I hope you enjoy it as well, along with this cool blog!

  6. Every one is true and perfectly said! And thinking about one of them … I realized that, indeed, there is not one person with or for whom I work that I do not genuinely like. It’s a great place to be. (And means I’ve paid my dues! 🙂
    jeanne

Leave a Reply

