The Hipsters Are Coming, The Hipsters Are Coming! How Repackaging Broadway May Be Its Saving Grace

Is this the new face of Broadway marketing? If so, I don’t mind a bit. Faux faded images, main characters walking the street, everyone donning enviable indie-wear – all the makings of a hipster-approved production. And it’s about time we look for ways to show that the Great White Way isn’t only for older and financially privileged audiences.

These gorgeous shots from the new musical Once can be used to entice an entirely different crowd. And if Broadway wants to survive over the next 100 years, that is exactly what it needs to do. Attract younger audiences – they have the power of social media on their side and if they like a piece, they make it known. The generation’s habit of oversharing will be free marketing for the show, and give it the chance to survive in the high-stakes theatrical market.

Of course this photography is informed by the source material, the breakout indie hit with Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, and aims to create that same honest and raw feeling as the film.  Now that story gets to come to life in a completely new way on stage.

And as much as I’m not a fan of the “hey-that-was-a-movie-let’s-turn-it-into-a-musical” trend, I have to admit that these images have been nudging me to get to New York and check out the show.



“Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
You’ll make it now”

All of these beautiful instagram-esque images from the musical’s official site.

14 thoughts on “The Hipsters Are Coming, The Hipsters Are Coming! How Repackaging Broadway May Be Its Saving Grace

    • Mine too. I truly love the film and agree with you there. Everything I’ve heard so far heralds the fact that the show has done something completely different – made it beautiful and unique in its own way.

  1. Pingback: I Am Not A Hipster…But I might be. « The Hipster Hubster

  2. I have tickets to see the show next week (my folks got me an amazing birthday gift this year) and I am hoping that it is as good as I have heard it is. As much as I am not a fan of making movies into plays, Once the film was such a unique thing and I have heard a lot of encouraging things about Once the play that I cannot wait. If you like, I can report back and let you know what I thought.

Leave a Reply

