You Can Dance If You Want To

“To dance is to be out of yourself. Larger, more beautiful, more powerful. This is power, it is glory on earth and it is yours for the taking”

-Agnes De Mille

There’s something absolutely wonderful about these shots of some of the greats in rehearsal. Little moments before the polish went on, right in the midst of finessing a piece. Yet even in these “rough” shots, it’s easy to pick out the stars. They’re electric. Eartha Kitt and James Dean hanging in dance class? No biggie. Bob Fosse demonstrating wild 90 degree angle wrists for his troupe? Makes it look easy. Judy Garland and Gene Kelly catching some serious air? Obsessed.

What is your signature move? Dare you find time in your day to try out any of those above.

Image Sources: 1, 2, 3

28 thoughts on “You Can Dance If You Want To

  1. we are about to set up an over 25’s /30’s dance night so that we oldies (I speak for myself) can go out dancing without feeling intimidated / outdone by youngsters. I guess we want to listen to older music too! Signature moves are on the warm up plate….

  2. I was doing the 1st one (or a variation of such!) today outside a café and my friends were laughing and I turned around and an older gentleman was looking at me shaking his head..then he smiled!
    Probably thought I was a little loopy..lol 🙂
    Love it!

  3. The quotes you find are brilliant, that one really tells us why we love to dance whoo hoo. Love the pictures Judy and Gene so graceful. Thanks for the inspiration…

  4. Gene has always been my dance idol. When I was still dancing/performing, I used to dream of one day meeting him and having the chance to dance with him. My dream never came true, but I never tire of watching his movies over and over and over….

    • He’s a wonderful dance idol to have. And maybe it’s for the best you never danced with him. I heard horror stories about him making his sweet costar in Singin’ in the Rain cry and keep her in rehearsal for 8hrs until her feet were bleeding…all because he was an incredible perfectionist. I’m all for the “no pain, no gain” mentality…but there’s always a line that shouldn’t be crossed there.

Leave a Reply

