Life is Not a Competition

When you place all your effort into one-upping those around you, you forget to put effort into yourself. And in an instant, life becomes about the accumulation of things instead of experiences. You race towards that next promotion, or award, or publication, feeding an ever-hungry ego and forgoing the joy of the ride.

And it’s easy to get caught up in it all – the media tells us we need to look a certain way, Facebook friends publicize their successes by the second, your family expects you to become a doctor or a lawyer (or maybe marry one), peers and colleagues ask “what have you done lately?” And suddenly we’re frantically looking around convincing ourselves that everyone around us is more successful and more fulfilled than we are. When in reality, everyone’s trying to strike a better balance to make themselves happier.

I’ve even seen this among the WordPress community (which on the whole is a welcoming and supportive one) with individuals literally begging to be Freshly Pressed to have another accolade that can momentarily satiate that creeping feeling of “does what I do matter.” Here’s a secret: you don’t need that nod in order to make a difference. Whether your page has 5 views a day or 5,000, you never know whose lives you may be touching by sharing your story, photos, poetry, jokes or whatever else you offer. All this to say, focus on making you better. It does no good to waste time on wondering why you haven’t reached some threshold of success that you’re coveting.  Improve yourself and your work, and the recognition will follow.

The next time you feel a pang of jealousy or inadequacy, step back and reevaluate. Are you angry at that person because they’ve done you some wrong, or because you want what they have? If the answer’s the latter, start working to get where you want to be. Because I can’t remember the last time someone got an award for sitting around and grumbling.

Compete against yourself. It’s a worthy adversary and in the end, you’ll always come out a winner.

Image Source

38 thoughts on “Life is Not a Competition

  1. Wow, wonderful post! Very true. This reminds me of a post I did, based on being a professional photographer, beginner, etc. I’m not one for labels and I don;t really care about theme, my response was, I’m just a photographer that has a passion for what I do! I follow no rules or anyone’s criticisms, I photography what I like and how I look at it through my lens! If with my blog I touched someone to inspire, I have made my purpose!!! Don’t need numbers at all. Loved this post!!!

  2. Great post! I agree about being “Freshly Pressed.” I’d never want to be. I couldn’t handle that amount of followers and commenters. While I love it when my blog gets a decent amount of comments and attention, the audience I have at the moment is all I need. I don’t need the whole world reading my blog.

  3. Thanks for such a great post! Sometimes I wonder how others are faring with their blogs, then realize that the reason that I started mine was to share my thoughts and experiences and, hopefully, make a difference in someone’s life. That puts it back into the right perspective for me. 🙂

  4. The sharing experience of blogging–freely offering my writing and art and true spirit–has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

    This is wonderful: ‘Improve yourself and your work, and the recognition will follow.’

    And it doesn’t matter if that recognition is from a few or many…if you can inspire, move, comfort, uplift someONE, that is what matters!

  5. Very true. I just want to continue to arrive at points where I’m proud of myself for pursuing what I believe in. Can’t please everyone anyway.

Leave a Reply

