Bite-sized Wisdom: Bradbury

In honor of a man whose work defined what it means to be courageous. Thanks for the ever-inspiration Ray. You will be missed. 

“If we listened to our intellect we’d never have a love affair. We’d never have a friendship. We’d never go in business because we’d be cynical: “It’s gonna go wrong.” Or “She’s going to hurt me.” Or,”I’ve had a couple of bad love affairs, so therefore…” Well, that’s nonsense. You’re going to miss life. You’ve got to jump off the cliff all the time and build your wings on the way down.” 

– Ray Bradbury

Image Source

You may also enjoy:

17 thoughts on “Bite-sized Wisdom: Bradbury

    • A brilliant unrestrained imagination, certainly. A perfect example: “I have never listened to anyone who criticized my taste in space travel, sideshows or gorillas. When this occurs, I pack up my dinosaurs and leave the room.”

  1. What an amazing photo commemorating the quotation by an amazing person. Ray Bradbury’s, “The Martian Chronicles” was my introduction to science fiction – and it got me totally hooked.

  2. I remember in school we “had to” read it for class – but it was anything but a chore to read Ray Bradbury! My favorite story is “Uncle Einar”. My mother was an summer school English teacher and always used The Martian Chronicles in her class – an remarkable number of students who failed during the year passed her course. Whether due to her abilities or Ray’s utter coolness, who knows? But I remember a box of 30 copies of The Martian Chronicles living in the hall closet for ten years!

  3. Thanks for this. He was also incredibly funny. I saw him reading a poem on the first Mars shot – he pondered on whether they would find creatures there holding up signs saying ‘Ray Bradbury was right’. then he nodded to Arthur C Clarke sitting next to him, and added, ‘you too!. He is the last of the great writers – not just sci fi.

  4. I bought my first book with my own money at 12. Entered the bookstore, was welcomed by the owner. “What are you looking for?” she said. I had no idea “Science fiction” came out of my mouth. It was strange, I had never read anything in that genre. “Science” and “fiction” in the same phrase, I probably thought it sounded smart. She handed me “The Martian Chronicles”. Voila.

Leave a Reply

