Life On the Frontier

Home is a place you make. We’ve learned the neighbors’ names. They sound different than ours. 

His hands were always a sea of calluses. I can’t remember them any other way. 

We had only what we needed once. Happiness snuck up and found us here. 

More than a touch, not quite a caress. 

They’re leaving now. He says to a better land.

Home is a place you make. These are just the boards and nails and prairies we thought we deserved. Home feels different now.

 

Image Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

29 thoughts on “Life On the Frontier

  1. Amazing storytelling with few words. Even with such few words, the story is moving. Anyone can post pictures but you have given your pictures life and emotion. I look forward to seeing more 😀

  2. Hi,
    Great photos and I love what you wrote for the captions, I especially liked the 3rd photo,wood cut and ready to cook something on a open fire, nice. 🙂

  3. “More than a touch, not quite a caress.” Having grown up in the midwest and walked many a field like that I can tell you that caption is perfect. I enjoyed this entire post.

  4. Very cool post. Love the colors of the photos. Sometimes I wish I could tell my stories in such a compelling way with such few words. But I’m pretty wordy. Nice going!

    • Thanks James! I’ve found that it’s fun and challenging to try to limit the words to express a sentiment. Of course I still have fondness for longer texts – books, plays, letters, etc. -but there’s something innately appealing about the shorter messages.

  5. Here is my follow up…
    Your theme through each caption seems to be “home.” I never truly understood, or experienced HOME until a few years ago. Yes, we refer to the building we live and sleep in as home, the city it is in we call home. But, when you say “home” what does that mean to you…deep inside? This subject came up in a post last year about moving to different places and those experiences. Bloggers responded with different thoughts about it, especially if they had relocated to other places away from where they were born and grew up.

    Many people who live in places other than that of their birth, still refer to the place of their childhood as home, even if they have lived elsewhere for many years.

    I have moved many times in my life…other states, and even to another country for 12 years. When I returned to this country it was another city and state, different from where I was born. It was a place to start new, but never thought of it as forever. Some years ago I knew I needed to find somewhere else to live. I searched, and even moved somewhere else, but ended up coming back to where I have been for 21 years now. It has never felt like HOME. I started going to another city in another state only 2 hours from here as just a place to get away, for day trips. God has other plans. I eventually found that IT was the place where I belong. It is the place where, for the first time in my life I actually FEEL AT HOME.

    I was amazed. It was and is a very different feeling. Hard to describe. I never felt that way about any place before. But among the many responses to the other blogger last year, someone actually said it perfectly about the place she found herself in, and I realized that was and is my experience with the place I know to be HOME to me. The place and the people have embraced me, and I them. It is a most amazing feeling.

    • Ann, thank you so much for your wonderful, thoughtful response. What a journey.

      I think you hit the nail right on the head with just being able to feel when something is home for you. So happy to hear that you’ve found a place that welcomes and appreciates you.

  6. This is INCREDIBLE! I am delighted you visited my blog, to make it so easy for me to find you. Your blog is utterly gorgeous. Your writing… the images! I am enjoying it all but this is my favourite so far. “Happiness snuck up and found us here” Love it all. I am happy to follow and enjoy what you do here, so beautifully. Blessings, Gina

    • Gina, thank you so much. So happy I came across your lovely blog as well. I so enjoy what I’ve read so far and admire your commitment to a mantra of peace. Definitely one that’s needed nowadays. Look forward to connecting even more in the future! Have a great Friday, Jo

Leave a Reply

